My Daoist Life Chapter 75

    “Do you need a ride?”

    I followed Teacher Lin out of the bus station, and immediately a taxi drove up to us, enthusiastically asking this.

    “No need.” Teacher Lin shouted and then quickly dragged me away.

    “People in the Provincial Capital are really warm-hearted.” I looked back at that taxi and said sincerely.

    “Once you get out of the car and it’s time to pay, then you’ll know whether or not they’re warm-hearted.” Teacher Lin responded with a laugh.

    Teacher Lin took me to the bus stop outside of the station and gave me a look. Before the bus came, she asked with concern, “Huang Jingyang, are you still able to carry that bag?”

    “No problem, it’s just a bit heavy. Huang Shulang would be able to run around Bajiao Mountain all day while carrying it.” I shuffled the bag around in my hands to show that it wasn’t particularly heavy.

    “Brat.” Teacher Lin rubbed my head with force, ruffling my hair.

    I let out a laugh.

    “Does the bus still run at night in the city?” I asked.

    “Yes. Right now it’s not even considered late. DId you not see how there are so many people still waiting here?” Teacher Lin laughed.

    I briefly looked back, and there really were a lot of people.

    The bus arrived and everyone rushed into it. Although there were many people, and it was very crowded, I’ve been on a bus more crowded than this before. During Chinese New Year, there were buses that came from town to pick up people from the village and each time it was packed tight. Sometimes, when people were unable to squeeze in, the driver first started the bus, and then suddenly sped up. After driving for more than 10 meters, all the people crowded in the back of the bus rushed forward, creating a space for people who didn’t make it onto the bus initially to now squeeze into.

    “Are you tired? Huang Jingyang.” Teacher Lin asked me with concern.

    “I’m not tired at all. Teacher Lin, have we almost arrived at where you live?” I feel like the car has already travelled a very long distance.

    “How could we arrive there so quickly? Haven’t I told you that we’ll need to wait at least 1 hour? Today counts as pretty fast. If we bumped into peak traffic, even 2 hours wouldn’t be enough.” Teacher Lin patiently explained to me.

    “Oh it really is quite far away.” I nodded my head.

    “Huang Jingyang, for these two days you’ll first be living in the male dormitory. I’ve already arranged a bed for you. During this summer vacation, you’ll live there.” Teacher Lin took the opportunity to tell me about her arrangements.

    “I won’t be sleeping with you? I casually said.

    Teacher Lin almost wasn’t able to reach her hand out to cover my mouth, “Brat, you can’t carelessly say that. You’re already this old, how would you always be able to sleep with girls? Do you still want to grow taller?”

    “Then I’ll just sleep alone.” I could tell that Teacher Lin didn’t want other people to hear about this.

    Once we were halfway there, we changed buses again, and waited for another half an hour until we finally arrived at the station.

    Once I walked into the campus of Jincheng Normal University, I felt like Granny Liu entering the Grand View Garden. The campus was too big. When I walked in, I could feel an aura of weight and majesty that Bajiao Elementary School didn’t have. Although it was already summer vacation, there was still a continuous stream of people going about campus.

    Teacher Lin took me around in all directions. After a while, I couldn’t even distinguish south, east, north, and west. In the city, one can’t even see a trace of the stars in the night sky. Even the Heaven and Earth Yuanqi were in a chaotic state. They were infected with all kinds of pollution.

    “What’s wrong? Teacher Lin saw I was frowning and asked with a smile.

    “Teacher Lin, I can’t distinguish the directions anymore.” I scratched my head.

    Teacher Lin let out a giggle and patted my head. “Huang Jingyang, you’re finally acting more like a normal child.”

    Teacher Lin cheerfully laughed, but I felt very depressed. “Teacher Lin, when you came here, could you distinguish the directions?”

    Teacher Lin froze for a moment, then promptly said, “Of course I could distinguish the directions. Teacher Lin has a good sense of direction.”

    Why do I feel like Teacher Lin isn’t telling the truth?

    Teacher Lin took me to the male dormitory.

    The dormitory for graduate students was relatively open so boys and girls could freely enter either dormitory. After all, graduate students are very different from undergraduate students, in that they’ve already reached the age where men and women are getting married.

    As she walked to a bedroom, before she knocked on the door, Teacher Lin told me, “Huang Jingyang, in the future, in front of other people, don’t call me Teacher Lin, instead call me sister.”

    “Why? I’m already used to calling you that.” I asked, confused.

    “No whys. I’m currently studying here. If you call me teacher, what will it make the teachers of the school think?” Teacher Lin said.

    What Teacher Lin said seemed to make sense, but I constantly felt like something just felt off.

    “Have you remembered? Teacher Lin confirmed with me again.

    I nodded my head.

    Teacher Lin then finally knocked on the door of the bedroom.

    The door opened, and a man of around the same age as Teacher Lin appeared at the door.

    “It’s Chen Jing. Please come in. Is he your distant cousin?” The man asked.

    “He is. His name is Huang Jingyang. YangYang, this older brother is your sister’s classmate. His name is Chen Yao. It’s fine to call him Brother Chen.” Teacher Lin pulled me in through the door.

“Right now it’s just me who’s living in this bedroom. The other three left to attend academic conferences, or go home. Thus for the time being, none of them will be back. YangYang can live here anytime. Regarding a blanket or anything else, I have some prepared that I just laid out. First, let’s put his stuff right here. YangYang just arrived, so he probably hasn’t eaten anything yet. How about I take you all out to eat some food?” Chen Yao would frequently glance over at Teacher Lin, making me feel rather uncomfortable.

    “YangYang, you should wait here at Brother Chen’s place. Sister will go back to pick up some stuff.” Teacher Lin left after saying this.

    Your home is in Huangyan City. Are you really Lin Jing’s cousin? Chen Yao asked.

    I nodded my head, not understanding why Chen Yao would ask this.

    “Are you really not Lin Jing’s illegitimate child?” Chen Yao hesitated a moment when asking this.

    “You’re Teacher Lin’s illegitimate child. When I grow up, I want to marry Teacher Lin and make her my wife. It’s intolerable. I already can’t tolerate staying quiet any longer.

    Chen Yao laughed loudly. To him, what I said just sounded childish.

    My impression of Chen Yao was getting worse and worse. Not wanting to deal with him anymore, regardless of what he said, I didn’t respond.

    I picked up my luggage, opened the door, and went outside to wait for Teacher Lin at the door.

    “YangYang, just now it was Brother Chen’s mistake, and brother wishes to apologize to you. How about we be friends again?” Chen Yao said.

    Although I don’t like Chen Yao, I don’t want to see Teacher Lin sad even more.

    “I’ll never say something like that again. It was all my mistake. To show my sincerity in apologizing, I’ll give this to you.” Chen Yao took something out and shoved two black earbuds into my ears.

    I’ve never seen this item before, but I know it’s used for listening to music.

    “This is an MP3 player. The sound’s pretty good. See for yourself.”  Chen Yao put the two earbuds into my ears. Very beautiful sounding music came out from the earbuds.

4 thoughts on “My Daoist Life Chapter 75

  1. Thanks for the chapter, I really though they were more in the past but since MP3 are already a thing they must be in a more contemporanian time.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started